Let her be

So, while I lay down, awake in the dark, I ask myself this.

Would I want to see her, now, worrying about me, incapable of handing herself to sleep and despising her thoughts, just like it happens with me, this meaning that she actually loved me; or do I prefer her to be peacefully lost in a quiet rest (as I presume she must be), disregardful of me and all the damaging trouble passion naturally brings to our lives, so harmful to a lover’s heart?

This is a complex interrogation, harder than it may seem at first. The answer, however, can be pretty simple. It’s so tempting to want her to feel me, in that way I wished she did. If only I could… But, let’s be honest, if I could control her heart, would I dare to act on it, or just let her be instead?

Well, I truly believe I would stay still. Liberty and Respect are the founding principles of any relation. These two words alone scream “Love” louder than many actions.

Sincerely, would I want her to even know what it feels to endure a life this tormenting, to solely exist, exhausted from these long nights and meaningless days that follow, invariably? To, resignedly, embrace emptiness as the only solid reality?

I’m sure she knows how to love, she is herself so lovely, I’m only glad that she ignores how straining it is to understand it like I do now, because of her. She does not deserve that smashing weight spraining her elegant physique, not this kind of pain, not inflicted on her. Never.

I could not ever be bold enough to desire such an unwieldy fate to plunge upon her, let me be the only one hurting. I don’t think I could live with that, even though I can guarantee I would be here to reciprocate her love, plainly and genuinely, to be the best one for her. Always.

If love shows itself as such a haunting journey sometimes, will I want her to really perceive it as it is? Or am I happier with the situation unravelling like this? Me, watching her lightly glide through life, unattached, she and her graceful libertarian vitality, that unique mannerism which made it so easy for me to just dive into her, carelessly.

There’s indescribable intrinsic beauty surrounding the act of silent and subtly moving on. What’s challenging is actually trying to be sufficiently brave to properly execute it.

You’ll feel better if you face the process of letting go as a merciful favor, from your behalf, towards the one you’ll always love. Sparing her from the burden that is to love, and consequently, to long; this rawly felt sensation, one that can’t be described through words even though I incessantly try to. Don’t submit her to such experience by feeling tempted to teach her all you know about it. Enduring that lesson is hard, and you with your bruised brain are the proof of it. Let her live, widely astray, and candidly taste every bit of her ripe innocence.

Look at her with delight, for you see her living the life you lost when you decided to love her.


Featured image

33 thoughts on “Let her be

  1. This very well written piece compelled me to ask these several questions , Firstly is it nessacery to let her be? She’s unattached, she knows how to love and oviously unforgettable.. Why would one find it better to choose livivng a life filled with such agony because of love?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed your points on liberty and respect.

    It definitely takes a strong character to make decisions that are best for others at your own expense. That in itself is the true definition of love. Sometimes it is expressed in letting them go in their own perspective way, but an even rarer expression of love today is loving them to such a depth that you are willing to take the risk of losing the relationship by communicating your perspective to them with their good in mind, which they may be willingly or unwillingly oblivious to.

    Case in point, the Holy Bible is all about relationships from start to finish on every level known to man. It begins with a relationship and ends with a relationship. God, the master of and the originator of the first institution, the marriage relationship, never misses an opportunity to express His perspective to every person He is in relationship with in some way at some point, because He loves them enough to take the risk of losing the relationship based on the more important value of the person themselves. Love is courageous.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “Liberty and Respect are the founding principles of any relation. These two words alone scream “Love” louder than many actions.”

    👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏

    Love your writing style! I enjoyed this piece.

    #MalisWorldBlog

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on Mariajob and commented:
    Just had to Reblog this, i couldn’t have said it any better – Well, I truly believe I would stay still. Liberty and Respect are the founding principles of any relation. These two words alone scream “Love” louder than many actions.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m inspired by you every time I read your blogs evermore. I also love the pictures that you use, they are just very beautiful! Where do you even get those? o.O I jsut hope to be as good as you anyways! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Reblogged this on Three Good Things and commented:
    Such a beautifully sad expression of lost love… “There’s indescribable intrinsic beauty surrounding the act of silent and subtly moving on. What’s challenging is actually trying to be sufficiently brave to properly execute it.”

    Liked by 1 person

Show me some love...

